Capture.JPG

Clinic First Webinar Miniseries: Continuity & Access - Applying the Clinic First Model in a Post-COVID World



The AFMRD sponsored a two-session webinar series, “Continuity & Access: Applying the Clinic First Model in a Post-COVID World.” 

This interactive webinar series was led by staff from the UCSF Center for Excellence in Primary Care (CEPC). The miniseries focused on continuity and access to care. 

Session 1:
May 26, 2021
11am-12:30pm CT (12-1:30pm ET; 10-11:30am MT, 9-10:30am PT)

Link to recording: https://vimeo.com/555741669/2b8765c4c7
Slides: https://www.afmrd.org/d/do/4602
©2021 The Regents of the University of California. Licensed material shall be used solely for educational, non-commercial, not-for-profit purposes. 

Session 2:
June 9, 2021
11am-12:30pm CT (12-1:30pm ET; 10-11:30am MT, 9-10:30am PT)

Link to recording: https://vimeo.com/561985236/07e3926d18
Slides: https://www.afmrd.org/d/do/4618
©2021 The Regents of the University of California. Licensed material shall be used solely for educational, non-commercial, not-for-profit purposes. 

AFMRD members are encouraged to invite other members of their team (e.g. Clinic Medical Director, Residents, APDs, nursing managers, clinic staff champions) to register for these webinars. Attendance at both sessions is helpful but not required. The webinars will be recorded for those unable to attend.

Questions? Please contact Kathleen at kingraham@aafp.org


Why Clinic First?

Family medicine clinics training future primary care physicians face significant challenges. Faculty physicians and residents may spend only 1 – 3 half-days per week in clinic, creating obstacles for continuity, access, and team-based care. Disorganized clinic experiences lead to low clinician and staff satisfaction and can cause trainees to abandon plans for careers in primary care. The Clinic First paradigm provides a roadmap for synergistically fulfilling both missions of education and patient care in a way that invigorates the current and future workforce in primary care. 

Want more info about the Clinic First approach? See below:

https://cepc.ucsf.edu/
https://www.aamc.org/download/474510/data/aamc-ucsfprimarycareresidencyinnovationreport.pdf
https://www.aafp.org/dam/AAFP/documents/events/rps_pdw/handouts/res18-257-276-clinic-first-deep-dive.pdf
http://www.jgme.org/doi/pdf/10.4300/JGME-D-15-00398.1