NOTE: Although the AFMRD holds its Annual Meeting during the conference, the Residency Leadership Summit is exclusively an AAFP meeting. Visit the AAFP website for information on the Residency Leadership Summit. 


2022 AFMRD Annual Meeting Highlights

March 26, 2022
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center (Gillham Hall)
Kansas City, MO

2022 Annual Meeting 4 (2).jpg

Members of the AFMRD met on Saturday, March 26, 2022, from 12:30 PM-1:30 PM in Kansas City for the AFMRD Annual Meeting. The 2022 meeting was held during the AAFP’s Residency Leadership Summit.

2022 PD Recognition Winners

Congratulations to the 2022 Program Director Recognition Award winners! The AFMRD Program Director Recognition Award is a measure of excellence, recognizing the achievements of program directors in light of their unique roles, responsibilities, and challenges.
Reaching any of the three award levels – bronze, silver, or gold – is indeed an accomplishment. The award is a status of excellence. It recognizes program directors for continuous learning and improvement through scholarly activity, peer and professional development and recognition, and commitment and service to the specialty and to medical education. 

Abdul Waheed, MD, MS PHS, FAAFP
Merima Bucaj, DO
Mayur Rali, MD, FAAFP

Kristina Diaz, MD, MBA, CPE, FAAFP
John Edwards, MD, MPH
Erin Kavanaugh, MD, FAAFP
Philip Taylor Dooley, MD

Heather Paladine, MD, MEd
Ronald Chambers, MD, FAAFP
Kimberly Krohn, MD, MPH, FAAFP

Bylaw Changes

The membership approved these proposed changes to the AFMRD Bylaws. 

Quick Hitters

Results from the 2022 Quick Hitter questions were shared with the membership. View the results here:

Annual Report
Check out the 2022 Annual Report:

President's Award

2021-22 AFMRD President Wendy Barr presented the 2022 President's Award to her family: her mother Nancy Brooks, her husband, Joseph Barr, and her son, John Barr.

2022-2023 Board of Directors

The membership also heard from 2022-23 AFMRD President Kim Stutzman at the meeting. Here is the complete list of the 2022-23 AFMRD Board of Directors:

Kim Stutzman, MD, FAAFP - President
Kristina Diaz, MD, MBA, FAAFP - President-Elect
Wendy Barr, MD, MPH, MSCE - Immediate Past President
Kevin E. Johnson, MD, FAAFP - Treasurer
Sarah Z. Cole, DO, FAAFP - Member-at-Large
Kelsie Kelly, MD, MPH - Member-at-Large
John B. Waits, MD, FAAFP - Member-at-Large
Donald Raj Woolever, MD, FAAFP - Member-at-Large
Grace Chen Yu, MD - Member-at-Large
Karen Elisa Milian Olmos, MD, MPH - Associate PD Representative
Beverly Onyekwuluje, MD - Resident Representative