Highlights from our 2018 Annual Meeting

The AFMRD Annual Meeting took place March 24, 2018 during the PDW and RPS Residency Education Symposium in Kansas City, MO. During the meeting, the AFMRD elected members to serve on the Board of Directors, recognized members' accomplishments, celebrated the 2018 NIPDD graduates, reviewed the organization's activities, and discussed important issues.

New Executive Director

AFMRD President, Karen Mitchell, MD, introduced Executive Director Deanne St. George to the membership.



John R. Bucholtz, DO, was presented with the Nikitas J. Zervanos Outstanding Program Director Award. Dr. Bucholtz


Program Director Recognition Awards were presented to 12 members:


Gold Silver Bronze
Dr. James Jarvis Dr. David Gregory Dr. James Haynes
Dr. Sherman D. Straw Dr. Christine Jacobs Dr. Laurie Hommema
Dr. Melissa Nothnagle Dr. Melody Jordahl-Iafrato
Dr. Dana Sprute Dr. Drew Keister
Dr. Zachry Waterson Dr. Jessie Pettit

NIPDD Graduates

Clark Denniston, MD recognized the National Institute of Program Director Development (NIPDD) 2017-2018 graduates.

Election Results

Gretchen Irwin, MD, MBA, FAAFP, was elected President-Elect. Dr. Irwin will serve as President-Elect for 2018-2019.  She will subsequently serve as President of AFMRD in 2019-2020 and Immediate Past President in 2020-2021.
Clark Denniston, MD recognized the National Institute of Program Director Development (NIPDD) 2017-2018 graduates.


 With Dr. Irwin’s selection as President-Elect, the Treasurer position became vacant. In accordance with the bylaws, the AFMRD Board appointed Steve Brown, MD, FAAFP to serve the remainder of the Treasurer’s term.


Deborah Clements, MD, FAAFP, James Haynes, MD, FAAFP, and Sherri Morgan, MD, MPH, FAAFP were elected to the three open Member-at-Large positions.


President’s Award

Outgoing AFMRD President Karen Mitchell, MD, honored Executive Director Vickie Greenwood with the AFMRD President's Award. Ms. Greenwood retired at the end of March.

AFMRD Highlight Video

The AFMRD highlighted activities and accomplishments from the past year with a "Year in Review" presentation.

Quick Hitter Questions

A series of “quick-hitter” questions were answered by members. See the results.

Open Mic


Robert Feldman, MD kicked off the Open Mic session with remarks on his 30+ years as a program director. Dr. Feldman’s remarks were followed by great discussions, celebrations, and questions.