2023-2024 Application and Interview Season


Submit your comments to the AFMRD: 

https://www.afmrd.org/p/su/rd/survey=5a55f5ad-14ce-11ed-b8b6-bc764e103b24

Dates: 

Monday, August 8, 2022 at 3pm ET/2pm CT – View Recording
Thursday, August 11, 2022 at 7pm ET/6pm CT – Download calendar invite (click on 3 dots on left side)
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 at 12pm ET/11am CT - Download calendar invite (click on 3 dots on left side)

Links to Additional Information:

AAMC Supplemental ERAS® Application: Key Findings From the 2022 Application Cycle
NRMP® Call for Public Comment Regarding Consideration of a Two-Phase Main Residency Match

Information: 

For the 2023-2024 application and interview season, family medicine organizations are considering making changes to improve the experience of students and residency programs in the interview and match process. The goal is to help more students and programs find the right fit and start to improve “application fever” where students feel compelled to apply to a large number of programs. Most specialties have already implemented some of these changes starting with the 2021 or 2022 application and interview season.

The AFMRD will be hosting three August 2022 sessions for members to give input into these changes. Decisions about changes to the family medicine match will be suggested for implementation by February 2023. All changes will be optional for programs.

The following changes will be considered:

  • Improving information available to students about programs
  • The ERAS Supplemental application including preference signaling
  • Changes to interview offers
    • Single interview offer release date
    • Programs offer no more interviews than slots available and allow students 48 hours to respond
    • Continued rolling interview offers and waitlist based on availability
  • Optional “second look” visits are decoupled from ranking process

Please come to one of our three virtual town halls to provide feedback on these topics. The presenter will start with a 15-minute overview of the last five years of family medicine application and match data and then open up the session for comments and questions!


Thursday, August 11, 2022 at 7pm ET/6pm CT – Download calendar invite (click on 3 dots on left side)
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 at 12pm ET/11am CT - Download calendar invite (click on 3 dots on left side)

If you cannot attend, a video recording will be posted of the session on the AFMRD website with an opportunity to send in comments to the AFMRD.

We hope to see you there!