ANNUAL MEETING OF THE ASSOCIATION OF FAMILY MEDICINE RESIDENCY DIRECTORS

Saturday, April 6, 2019 Kansas City, Missouri

I. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Fred Miser, MD, MA, FAAFP, President of the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors (AFMRD) welcomed the membership to the annual meeting of the AFMRD.

II. INTRODUCTIONS

Dr. Miser introduced the AFMRD Board of Directors, AFMRD staff, and Hope Wittenberg, CAFM director of government relations. Ms. Wittenberg was unable to attend the meeting.

III. CALL TO ASSEMBLE / DETERMINATION OF A QUORUM

The Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors (AFMRD) held the annual meeting of membership on Saturday, April 6, 2019, at The Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center in Kansas City, Missouri. After establishing a quorum, Dr. Miser, AFMRD President, officially called the meeting to order at 10:10 a.m.

IV. AFMRD HIGHLIGHTS

Dr. Miser introduced the AFMRD Highlights video.

V. 2019 NIKITAS J. ZERVANOS OUTSTANDING PROGRAM DIRECTOR AWARD

Dr. Miser recognized Robin O. Winter, MD, MMM, FAAFP, recipient of the 2019 Nikitas J. Zervanos Outstanding Program Director Award. Dr. Winter addressed the membership in gratitude for the award.

VI. 2019 AFMRD PROGRAM DIRECTOR RECOGNITION AWARDS

Dr. Deb Clements recognized the 2019 Program Director Recognition Award recipients.

BRONZE:

Carla R. Ainsworth, MD, MPH

Amy D. Crawford - Faucher, MD

Alexei O. DeCastro, MD

Kristina M. Diaz, MD, FAAFP

Philip Taylor Dooley, MD

Erin M. Kavanaugh, MD

Annual Meeting
Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors
April 6, 2019
Page **2** of **4**

Deborah E. Miller, MD, MACM

Mary K. Nordling, MD

Daniel J. Schlegel, MD, MHA

Zubair A. Syed, MD, FAAFP

SILVER:

Robert P. Bonacci, MD

James W. Haynes, MD, FAAFP

Gretchen Irwin, MD, MBA, FAAFP

Kate DuChene Thoma, MD, MME

Stacey G. Robert, MD

Donald R. Woolever, MD

GOLD:

Donald A. Briscoe, MD

Nikhil K. Hemady, MD, FAAFP

David D. Lick, MD, MBA, MPH

Stacy E. Potts, MD, Med

Stephen D. Ratcliffe, MD, MSPH

John Bryan Waits, MD

VII. National Institute of Program Director Development (NIPDD)

Dr. Miser called Clark Denniston, MD, to the podium to recognize the Academic Council of the National Institute of Program Director Development (NIPDD), the current NIPDD Fellows, and all NIPDD Graduates by asking them to stand.

VIII. Recognition of Newly Accredited Programs and New Program Directors

Dr. Miser recognized the over 40 new programs accredited since the last annual meeting by asking the new program staff to stand. He also recognized all new program directors by asking them to stand.

IX. Voting

Dr. Miser reviewed the voting procedures to be used for elections as reflected in the AFMRD Rules of Order.

A. Approval of Minutes of The Last Meeting

The minutes from the 2018 annual meeting were approved as written by acclamation of the membership.

B. Election of Officers

Dr. Steve Schultz, MD, AFMRD Nominations Committee, introduced membership to the slate of candidates for the 2019 Board of Directors.

Deborah S. Clements, MD, FAAFP was elected President. Dr. Clements will serve as President of AFMRD in 2019-2020 and Immediate Past President in 2020-2021.

Steve Brown, MD, FAAFP was elected President-Elect. Dr. Brown will serve as President-Elect for 2019-2020. He will then serve as President in 2020-2021 and Immediate Past President in 2021-2022.

Curtis Galke, DO, was elected Treasurer.

The nominees for the three open Member-at-Large positions were Wendy Barr, MD, MPH, MSCE, Sabesan "Saby" Karuppiah, MD, MPH, FAAFP, Jessie Pettit, MD, and Kimberly Stutzman, MD. Each nominee briefly addressed the membership to identify important issues facing AFMRD. Drs. Barr, Karuppiah, and Stutzman were elected as Member-at-Large directors by voting members.

C. Bylaw Changes

Dr. Miser asked Sherri Morgan, MD, MPH, FAAFP to present changes to the bylaws brought forward by the AFMRD Board of Directors.

Section I of the AFMRD Bylaws addressed the eligibility criteria for three categories of AFMRD membership. Questions were raised in 2018 about the criteria related to program directors of AOA accredited programs. The board proposed two changes to Section I to align to the current state of the transition to single accreditation. Additionally, the Board proposed two changes to Section II to correct typographical errors.

The proposed Bylaws changes were approved by the membership.

X. NEW BUSINESS

There were no new business items received for consideration of the Assembly.

Annual Meeting
Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors
April 6, 2019
Page **4** of **4**

IX. ADDRESS FROM THE NEW AFMRD PRESIDENT

Dr. Clements, President, 2019–2020, addressed the membership and asked for support during the coming year.

X. PRESENTATION OF PRESIDENT'S AWARD

Dr. Miser took a moment of personal privilege to present his wife, Debra Miser and their family, the President's Award.

XI. QUICK-HITTER QUESTIONS

As has become tradition during the AFMRD Annual meeting, Dr. Miser asked several "Quick-Hitter" questions to determine the current pulse of the membership and compare results to past responses. Responses to these questions were viewed after the Open Microphone session.

XII. OPEN MICROPHONE – WHAT'S ON YOUR MIND?

Dr. Miser welcomed members to come forward and address the Assembly.

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:58 p.m.